Illus. Oscar Linder, © 2015 Oscar Linder:
Illus. Oscar Linder, © 2015 Oscar Linder:

1. What is the difference between occupying, controlling, & coexisting?

“Occupying” is the standard word used whenever any unit is at a site. By occupying sites, you prevent others’ units from being able to go to there (unless they are “coexistable units”). If your character occupies a site, you “control” it, this gives you “control generation,” and allows you to deploy there. Units that “coexist,” such as captives and creatures, ignore all restrictions and can go to any site even where other players are.

2. Can I lose my Attachment cards to satisfy damages if I lose a battle?

This can often be a way you save units from having to be lost instead.

3. Is there any difference between “moving” and “relocating”?

Yes. Moving is the term reserved for when a unit uses up its personal movement. Relocating is the generic term for when a unit changes its location via a special ability or Action card. When a unit relocates, it cannot carry other units at the same time.

4. Can “battle grouping” be used to attack the same opponent’s location multiple times from my single site?

Yes. Doing this is also one of the main ways a player can counter an opponent’s attempte to protect their lone character using “Wizard’s Protection” (the Action card): by battle grouping your forces into smaller attacking groups, even if your opponent uses Wizard’s Protection to protect their lone character from one of your attacking groups, your next attacking group can then initiate a battle against their character. Note though that battle grouping does increase your risk of being beaten by your opponent because you are dividing your forces up, and you have to spend 1 token to initiate a battle for each group.

4. If I divide my forces into battle groups at one of my locations, and I find that I am losing in a battle because of it, can units from my other battle group(s) still join that battle?

Yes. But you will have to spend 1 token for each of your other battle groups that you want to have join the battle.

5. Can I “Beckon” a unit to join a battle where my Hero is?

Yes, regardless of whether you are attacking or defending, you can “Beckon” a unit to automatically join any battle of yours already taking place at your Hero’s location.

6. Can I use my Hero’s “Beckon” ability during an opponent’s battle phase, even if my hero isn’t involved in a battle?

Yes. You might be thinking, “what would be the point of doing this?” And there won’t always be a point :). But there is at least one interesting purpose this could serve: if you only need one more character at your Hero’s location in order to form a “Wall of Three” (i.e. 3 characters at a site), beckoning a character there during your opponent’s battle phase may be a way you prevent your opponent from moving through that site using a transport (that is, if they had been planning to do so).

7. If a player is at Gwythral’s location and I want to attack there from an adjacent site, can I choose to exclusively fight Gwythral (or exclusively fight that player?), or must I attack all of them together?

Gwythral can only ever fight on his own. Therefore, you always have the choice of either exclusively attacking that player’s units there or exclusively attacking Gwythral (regardless of whether or not that player owns Gwythral.